Press "Enter" to skip to content

Get to know Eeske van Roekel!

What is your role/position in the IDA program?

Supervisor for traineeships, FYP and master thesis

How long have you been teaching?

In IDA for 5 years now (on and off)

What do you like about teaching?

I highly enjoy sharing knowledge with students and seeing them grow. And this is definitely bi-directional, as I also learn a lot from students

What is the reason you became a researcher?

I wanted to understand how some people seemed to thrive no matter the circumstances, whereas others struggle. By conducting more applied research I also hope to create an impact and help people.

What is the most fascinating about human beings to you?

How we all are so different but still also share the same fundamental needs.

Are there times where you doubt researching or university?

Yes, I often doubt the impact that we can have and how we change the way we work to actually make a difference in people’s lives

What makes IDA students unique?

They are really smart and curious, and supervising them is so much fun. It is very inspiring, and I learn a lot from them as well.

If you could change something in the university setting what would you change?

Less bureaucracy and more focus on student and employee well-being

What advice would you give future IDA students?

Enjoy learning and try not to focus too much on the competition in academia. A healthy work-life balance is essential to ‘survive’ (and there are many examples that show that this is possible!).

What is a collaborative project that you liked and worked with an IDA student on?

I have had many inspiring projects, but one of my first experiences was with former IDA student Michele Schmitter, who worked with me on a paper on emotional reactivity (doi:

How are you experiencing the teacher-student relationship in the IDA program?

Very informal and non-hierarchical, which I really like.

If you are not teaching or doing research, what else do you like doing in your personal time?

Spending time with my family (husband and 2 kids), sewing, reading, going out with friends.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *